Customer reviews for 6R LIGHT AUBURN

6R LIGHT AUBURN

The Experts at Vidal Sassoon bring you salon color expertise. Get the long lasting, vibrant red color you crave. Up to 8 weeks of vibrant color. 100% Gray Coverage. Perfected by Experts.
Overall rating:
3.273 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
12 out of 22(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Review 1 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love the product

PostedApril 1, 2014
fromSurrey BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love 6r. It is just the right amount of red and brown mix.How come it is not available in the stores anymore?
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The color of this product is lovely at first

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
fromelizabeth city, nc
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walgreens
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this haircolor thinking it would be terrific. The color did come out great but in three weeks it is awful looking, drab and colorless, I do still have a red streak that my daughter put in my hair a couple of months ago, she used a Revlon product to do the streak and it still looks great, but the vidal Sassoon color just looks drab, very disappointed in this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareFebruary 7, 2014
Thanks for reaching out to us here. I am so sorry to hear about the color fade. That’s certainly not what we expect from our hair color! Would you mind giving us a call when you have a few moments? We can gather more details from you and we'll do our best to make it right! We're available from 9AM - 6PM EST, Monday-Friday, at 1-866-286-7163.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mistake

PostedNovember 27, 2013
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:CVS Pharmacy
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using your product for the past 6 months. I usually use 5RR this time I made a mistake and bought the 6RR well it washed out in 2 weeks. I have roots showing which I didn't before. I would not recommend this color choice.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy Ashlie Consumer CareDecember 2, 2013
Hi! Thanks for letting us know what happened with 6R. I'm sorry that it has disappointed you. The color should not be washing out like you described, so we'd like to help you figure out what happened. When you have a few minutes, would you mind giving us a call? We're available Monday - Friday from 9 AM - 6 PM EST at 1-877-286-7163.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Glad I tried it!!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
fromGreenville, NC, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walgreens
Hair Type:Thick
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had been reading mixed reviews about the Red colorings and the different results some have had so I was very apprehensive about trying the VS Pro Series. I use the shampoo and conditioner and I LOVE IT so I thought I would try the hair color and I am very glad I did. I used the 5RR/ Medium Vibrant Red and the application was easy and the coverage was the best I have used in my many years of coloring my hair. Also the color came out beautiful... vibrant and every strand was colored nicely and all my grey was covered well.
I will definitely use this again in the future.
Thank you!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed feelings

PostedOctober 29, 2013
fromIowa, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I too have just tried this product because I was tired of coloring my hair every 3-4 weeks with other products.
I love the way my hair feels after coloring but I too now have orange roots ( they were gray ) . Saw one review that said you should not start at your roots? So I am confused.. wish there was a chart that showed colors from blonde to black and the steps inbetween so when one color is not quite right we could just try the next one on the chart going to the color we want to end up with.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareOctober 30, 2013
Hi! Thanks for letting us know what happened. I'm sorry that your roots are an orange color. I also understand how confusing it is to dye your hair at home because there are so many conflicting recommendations out there. We want to help you! Please give us a call so we can talk you through how to help: 1-877-286-7163
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great haircolor, but unexpected result-too orange

PostedOctober 20, 2013
fromKennewick, WA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walgreens
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I went from medium blonde with lots of gray. I wanted an auburn color. My result was way too orange. I'm disappointed in the color, but love the feel and shine of my hair. I tried VS because I read about the red color staying in longer and the great results covering gray. I will try a different shade next time, but not sure what to do about the color right now.
Final take - will definitely use again due to the great gray coverage, shine and feel if my hair. I will just seek advice on color choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it was great but turned out kinda orange

PostedJuly 16, 2013
fromOregon, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Kroger
Hair Type:Thin
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i went from dirty blonde to this color and i like it but it is a little orange but i still love it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE the Light Auburn!!!

PostedJune 29, 2013
fromChattanooga, TN, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Oily
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally don't write product reviews, but the 6R Light Auburn is fantastic! It is absolutely the best hair color product I've ever used. I normally use Nice & Easy Dark Auburn. The store was out of it yesterday so I wandered over to the Vidal Sassoon section and picked up this item. The color swatches were the shade I was looking for, so I figured why not give it a try. So glad I did! I will never buy the other brand again. That's saying something because I've been using the other color for over 10 years. The color came out perfect. Not too red. Not too brown. Not brassy or copper. Hair was soft and shiny after coloring. Vidal Sasson, I love you. I really do. Thank you for a great product! You've gained a new customer!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytemps
 
Please wait while more information about temps is loaded.
Additional information about temps could not be loaded.
onMarch 21, 2014
I have the same experience with the Light Auburn. It's the only color I have received immediate compliments on. It doesn't stay in longer than about 3-4 weeks, but I think it's still worth it because of the perfect color. Unfortunately, I can't seem to find it in the stores anymore, so I have to buy it for now online.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not auburn

PostedJune 18, 2013
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Thick
My previous brand of color discontinued 6R as a shade. I like a color that has a little brown and is not a strong red and the box indicated this one fit the bill. When I applied the color I was a bit alarmed that it was carrot orange, but figured like any color, you can't go by the color you see. The strand test did not appear too bright but that was probably because it was such a small sample. Unfortunately, when applied to my entire head, the final color turned out rather orange-ish, not the auburn color I expected. The good news is that I have a fair amount of grey and reds tend to fade, so this should fade out to something more appealing. The bad news is this color does not seem to fade as bad as most (which is good if you like the color). There should be a better representation of the color on the box. It definitely looks like a nice light reddish brown rather than orange.
As far as the product itself, it left my hair feeling nice, rinsed out well, and has a generous tube of conditioner. It's just the color I was not happy with.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byloulou
 
Please wait while more information about loulou is loaded.
Additional information about loulou could not be loaded.
onJuly 2, 2013
Follow up: Although all reds seem to fade, this one did not fade as quickly as others I've used, so it took almost 3 weeks for my color to be about the right shade. The grey coverage was very good. But I still won't use it again because it was too orange-ish.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beaytiful color

PostedJune 14, 2013
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Thin
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The color lasts. It is perfect right from the first blow dry. I love this product don't ever change it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Terrible Gray Coverage

PostedMay 30, 2013
fromGrand Haven, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Other
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was excited to try this product. I dyed my hair, leaving it on for the time specified. After rinsing my hair I could still see gray hairs. I do not have much gray and expected it to be gone... No such luck. It has been one week and the color has faded already. I won't be purchasing this color again...
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareJune 3, 2013
Hi! I know how disappointing it is when you're looking forward to trying something, and then it doesn't meet your expectations! I know how upsetting it is to still see grays after anticipating your new, fresh color. We’d love to get more details from you, and offer our help. If you are interested, please give us a call at 1-877-286-7163 when you have the chance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than I expected!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was a little daunted to use this once I read some of the reviews, but I had already purchased it! I was really pleasantly surprised. First of all; this product leaves NO icky smell on your hair. Absolutely an all time first. I love that! I had no orange scalp, no color coming off on towels. The conditioner that comes with the product is REALLY good; my hair is silky and light. I do have to say, the auburn is not as red as most boxed light auburn colors. It's soft, and I think probably looks the most natural of any I've used. No one is going to shriek, "OH MY GOD YOU DYED YOUR HAIR RED!!!!" It's more of a coppery light brown. Pretty and not too strong. I color a lot, and so I did the root -touch up method, and I don't feel my roots were lifted as much as other boxed colors--I'm a little two-toned so next time I might leave the color on a hair longer. Also, I have very little gray but what gray I have is right around my face-- and the color didn't hold as well on the gray. I still like the color enough that I think this will replace the other brands I've tried. The color is holding nicely and my hair is happy! One thing I would say to people who say the color fades; check with your water department about the level of chlorination in your area. If you can smell chlorine in your water at all, there's a good chance it is affecting your color! Chlorine is bleach, and it affects red tones first! There's a thing you can buy on Amazon that you hang under your shower head or swish in your bath water, to take the chlorine out and it's under forty bucks. You won't believe how much that alone will help your haircolor last! Your skin will be better off too. Also, use the color-safe shampoos and conditioners. I'm sure Sassoon has some :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect color from start!

PostedMay 6, 2013
fromRichmond, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Target
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased and used light auburn. I waited until after using the product three times before writing my review. First time using the full head and the next times applying root touch up instructions. In the past, other brands of light auburn start out too too dark. By the time it fades to the color I like, the roots are showing and I need to reapply. VS light auburn is the perfect shade right from the start. The color lasts and looks great! I only need to reapply 5-6 weeks because of new hair growth...not because of fading. The orange scalp is a little intimidating...but it does go away. I am very happy with this shade!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Color fades quickly.

PostedApril 28, 2013
fromTexas, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Other
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
While the color covers gray really well, this color which is beautiful on first application, fades within a week. After three weeks, the red color faded out even with using a product that is designed for colored red hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareMay 1, 2013
I apologize that 6R Light Auburn didn’t give you the results you were looking for and that you are so disappointed after coloring. I know how upsetting it is to still see color fade. We’d like to talk with you in more detail about the issues you had and also about your results, so we can offer our help. Please call us at 1-877-286-7163 when you a have a moment. Thanks so much for sharing your experience and we hope to hear from you soon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice color, fades after one wash.

PostedApril 14, 2013
fromSan Jacinto, CA, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product because the red on the box (5RR) was absolutely beautiful. When I first dyed my hair, I was unsure about the color. After just one(1) wash, it's more brown than red. I even used John Frieda Radiant Red color saving shampoo. Now it's a slightly red-tinted brown and I would not recommend this if your hair is a light brown to begin with.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareApril 15, 2013
This is really interesting. We’d like to talk with you in more detail about the issues you had and also about your results, so we can offer our help. Please call us at 1-877-286-7163 when you a have a moment. Thanks so much for sharing your experience and we hope to hear from you soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedApril 7, 2013
fromMinnesota
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have never used such an awful hair color in my 15 years of using hair color. My scalp turned orange!!! I had to call Vidal Sasoon to find out how to get rid of it. Sad thing is that they knew right away.
Obviously, this question has come up before.
I will never ever use one of their hair colors again! Never.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy Ashlie Consumer CareApril 8, 2013
Oh no! Thank you for your honest feedback about 6R Light Auburn - it will really help us improve our products. I will be sharing with the rest of the team.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byredgonewrong
 
Please wait while more information about redgonewrong is loaded.
Additional information about redgonewrong could not be loaded.
onMay 19, 2013
I am in a similar situation from 5RR! My scalp and hairline skin is stained orange!! The areas of my hair that were gray are now bright orange. I colored it 3 days ago. Been coloring with reds since I was 16 and have never experienced anything like this. Hoping Vidal Sasson will make this right
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Ever

PostedMarch 8, 2013
fromYoungstown, Ohio
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Thick
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is absolutely the WORST hair color I have ever used!!!!!!!!! I have coloered my mothers hair for over 20 years And I usually use Loreal mainly. I saw the commercials for this color and decided to try it. WORST mistake EVER. Everytime my mother washes her hair it rinses out, it has gotten all over her towels and wash cloths and even rubs off on the collars of her shirts and on her pillow cases.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareMarch 11, 2013
I know how disappointing it is when you were looking for the product, and it doesn’t meet your expectations. The results you describe are not what we expect as an end result. We’d love to help you. Could you call us at 1-877-286-7163 so that we can get more details? Hope to hear from you soon!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
onMay 23, 2013
I also used this product, every time i washed my hair the water was orangy red and had red on the walls and my towels. My pillow cases have red stains and some of my white shirts are not white any more :(
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is amazing !

PostedMarch 8, 2013
fromImmokalee, FL 34142, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Walmart
Hair Type:Thick
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this is what im looking for not to red but red enough ! thamks vidal sassoon
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

orange roots.

PostedMarch 1, 2013
fromWest Lawn, PA 19609, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase Location:Other
Hair Type:Normal
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have light brown hair. This product turned my roots orange and the rest of my hair was darker. Very disappointed. Would not use again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareMarch 4, 2013
Hi! I’m so sorry you experienced these results with our hair color. This is not what we expect, so we’d love to talk with you and get more details when you a have moment. Please call us at 1-877-286-7163. Your comments will help us evaluate and improve our products and services. Thanks for sharing!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bymeme
 
Please wait while more information about meme is loaded.
Additional information about meme could not be loaded.
onMarch 23, 2013
the product is not why your roots turned orange, it is how you applied the color. Never start from the scalp unless you are going dark. Always start at least an inch away. Your scalp produces heat so it lifts faster.
+2points
4of 6voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for 6R LIGHT AUBURN
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

was less than pleased

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Age:18 to 24
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had vibrant red hair for awhile and I know how to take care of it to keep fading to a minimum. So when I heard of this product and how it lasts much longer than typical color I decided to try it. However within TWO WEEKS I was having to redye my hair. This color faded out so quickly it was unreal. Within a month and a half I had went through at least SIX boxes of the color. To claim that this product lasts longer and does not fade is simply not true. I will never recommend this brand to anybody else nor will I ever use it again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Vidal SassoonBy AshlieConsumer CareFebruary 26, 2013
Hi! I know how disappointing it is when you're looking forward to trying something, and then it doesn't meet your expectations! This experience you describe is not at all what we expect as an end result from our products. I would really like to offer our help, and get details so that we can improve our products and services. When you have a moment, can you please call us at 1-877-286-7163? We hope to hear from you soon.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>